Holiday Wardrobe Essentials List

page

With the holiday season soon upon us, and the question of what to wear inevitable, I’ve put together a list of items that make sense to me as holiday staples. Of course I will bring more, but with these 12 items I have plenty of combinations, occasions and moods covered. I hope my list might give you a tip or two!

Inspired by this video made by Joules I’ve made my holiday packing list:


TOPS

1) A white t-shirt
Everything I bring on my holiday is loose fitted because of the heat. A loose, round neck t-shirt to me is the ultimate basic that works with each item I’ll pack.

1) A printed t-shirt
A bit more outspoken than a white shirt, to wear with basic bottoms or go for a clash of prints. I would wear this with shorts, the tuxedo pants or a pencil or skater skirt.

3) A loose knit
A breezy knit is an essential to me, even when traveling to hot climates, to cover up on late night beach walks, freezing flights or chilly air-conditioned spaces.

4) A button down shirt
Breezy button downs are ideal for the heat and slightly more dressed up than a white t-shirt. Pair your (off) white pair with denim shorts for daytime and with palazzo pants or a printed skirt for night.

BOTTOMS

4) Denim shorts
Well, those are basically a holiday uniform. I’ll pack one in a medium blue wash and my black vintage Levi’s.

5) Black dressier shorts
Black tuxedo shorts or any type made out of fabric (the ones I have are lined with lace) are a bit more formal than those casual denim cut offs yet work for many occasions. Play them down with sandals, loafers or Converse, a loose tank top and some dainty necklaces and they still look great.

6) A statement skirt
Be it in lace, a floral or digital print or with an asymmetric hem; this is the playful piece that works for brunch at the beach or cocktails at night.

OTHER
7) A printed dress
A printed dress and a maxi dress are musts for me. I wear those as a beach cover up, to a party, as an easy shopping outfit. Whenever I travel far, I try to blend in and adapt somewhat to the dressing customs.

8) A parka or boyfriend jacket
As long as it’s loose! A parka or oversized boyfriend blazer made out of a light weight fabric is a fun holiday cover up with a casual feel that I would mostly wear in the city.

ACCESSORIES
9) A little cross body bag
When traveling, I prefer a small cross body styles for their practicality. I’ll trade my Alexander Wang one in for a Joules bag, indeed works with everything and holds your essentials in a safe way.

10) A statement accessory
Pack one brilliant pair of neck/arm/ear candy or stand out sunnies to transform even the simplest of looks with minimal effort.

12) Leather sandals
Flat or with a slight heel; a black or nude leather sandal goes with virtually every outfit while keeping comfort in mind.Other shoe-sentials to me are Converse.If you decide to bring one pair of heels, go for a wedge, a block heel, a kitten heel or a platform and nothing with tiny straps since your feet might be a bit more swollen.

Leave a Reply

